Skip to content
Middlesbrough Counts — Middlesbrough, in numbers.Local help →

Middlesbrough, in numbers

People and living standards

Middlesbrough council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Middlesbrough council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 144,747 in 1991 to 152,795 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Middlesbrough council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 145,767 people in 1996; 152,795 people in 2025. 4.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Middlesbrough council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991144,747
1992144,130
1993144,467
1994145,618
1995146,391
1996145,767
1997144,497
1998144,031
1999143,023
2000142,251
2001141,233
2002140,090
2003139,050
2004138,451
2005138,517
2006138,169
2007138,190
2008137,885
2009137,273
2010137,667
2011138,368
2012138,472
2013138,588
2014139,030
2015139,602
2016140,649
2017141,213
2018141,057
2019142,134
2020142,459
2021143,943
2022149,095
2023153,186
2024154,700
2025152,795
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Middlesbrough council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 33,959 people in 1996; 30,781 people in 2025. 9.4% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Middlesbrough council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199133,927
199234,008
199334,183
199434,449
199534,422
199633,959
199733,382
199832,994
199932,482
200031,885
200131,027
200229,992
200329,258
200428,716
200528,554
200628,211
200728,117
200828,062
200927,887
201027,996
201128,048
201228,009
201328,133
201428,283
201528,701
201628,999
201729,324
201829,499
201929,828
202029,924
202129,928
202230,511
202330,952
202431,054
202530,781
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Middlesbrough council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 91,444 people in 1996; 95,478 people in 2025. 4.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Middlesbrough council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199191,332
199290,578
199390,634
199491,253
199591,782
199691,444
199790,629
199890,496
199990,007
200089,839
200189,607
200289,496
200389,072
200489,075
200589,286
200689,304
200789,435
200889,186
200988,753
201088,985
201189,485
201289,153
201388,798
201488,743
201588,699
201689,109
201788,969
201888,358
201988,648
202088,656
202189,644
202293,678
202396,703
202497,593
202595,478
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Middlesbrough council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 20,364 people in 1996; 26,536 people in 2025. 30.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Middlesbrough council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199119,488
199219,544
199319,650
199419,916
199520,187
199620,364
199720,486
199820,541
199920,534
200020,527
200120,599
200220,602
200320,720
200420,660
200520,677
200620,654
200720,638
200820,637
200920,633
201020,686
201120,835
201221,310
201321,657
201422,004
201522,202
201622,541
201722,920
201823,200
201923,658
202023,879
202124,371
202224,906
202325,531
202426,053
202526,536
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 143,922 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Middlesbrough · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh15,09010.5%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African3,8162.7%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups3,0012.1%
White118,54782.4%
Other ethnic group3,4682.4%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 138,412 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Middlesbrough · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White122,05588.2%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups2,3621.7%
Asian/Asian British10,7687.8%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British1,7311.3%
Other ethnic group1,4961.1%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 134,855 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Middlesbrough · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White126,39993.7%
Mixed1,2690.9%
Asian/Asian British6,1524.6%
Black/Black British4770.4%
Chinese/Other5580.4%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 31.2% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Middlesbrough council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £8,645 per person in 1997; £17,855 per person in 2024. 106.5% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Middlesbrough council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19978,645
19988,325
19998,818
20009,265
20019,704
20029,793
200310,020
200410,535
200510,907
200611,329
200711,540
200811,825
200912,420
201012,512
201112,655
201213,353
201313,578
201414,153
201514,498
201614,498
201714,663
201815,132
201915,711
202015,816
202116,202
202216,645
202317,134
202417,855
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Middlesbrough council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -18.5% in 1997; -31.2% in 2024. 12.7 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Middlesbrough council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-18.5
1998-23.1
1999-22
2000-22.2
2001-21.6
2002-22.6
2003-23.1
2004-22.4
2005-22.4
2006-22.6
2007-24.8
2008-24.9
2009-22.4
2010-22.5
2011-22.3
2012-20.9
2013-22.5
2014-21.7
2015-23.8
2016-24.7
2017-25.6
2018-25.9
2019-25.4
2020-24.7
2021-25.8
2022-27.5
2023-29.9
2024-31.2
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

49.5%

21 March 2021 · Middlesbrough council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

24%

21 March 2021 · Middlesbrough council area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

23.9%

21 March 2021 · Middlesbrough council area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

7.3%

21 March 2021 · Middlesbrough council area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£141,000

July 2026 · Middlesbrough council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£698

August 2026 · Middlesbrough council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.